Inside The Enterprise Project


Knowledge Speaks, but Wisdom Listens to the Scanner
October 3, 2010, 12:08 pm
Filed under: NX-01 Deck Plans

Wow. I just now looked at my last post here and I am shocked. It has been two months! Where does the time go? One minute it was June and then it was October. But I have been crazy busy though. I know I keep using that excuse but I swear it is the honest truth. Working two jobs and attempting to keep a personal life intact will certainly burn up the waking hours. And things end up falling to the wayside, even when you don’t mean for them too.

But after two months of real life getting in the way, I finally found some time to finally get back to the project a couple of weeks ago. And here I am, back with an update. This time we have crew equipment to look at.

And here they are…

We have representations of the hand scanner, Vulcan scanner, MACO scanner, communicator, universal translator and the PADD. It took a while to scrounge up enough usable images for some of these. The hand scanner was especially hard. Pictures of that particular prop were all at an angle so extrapolating the width and height was problematic. The least complicated item was the PADD. The Enterprise prop department modified a Cabin Pocket-Vue CL-5000P Pocket Light Box, used to view photographic slides and transparencies, for the prop. I found the exact specifications for the product online. All the other props were visually compared to the PADD prop or the communicator for a size determination. I am very confident that I nailed the sizes correctly though.

And you may notice I am missing a couple of props, most notably Trip’s Engineering scanner, Reed’s detonation remote and Hoshi’s Comm Earpiece. This is intentional. Over the four years Enterprise was on the air, the crew used a wide variety of props and equipment. To include all of them would mean reducing the scale of the schematic and I was not willing to do that to cram them all in. So after much deliberation, I chose what I felt was the most important or interesting props to include. (Hoshi’s Earpiece almost made the cut but I threw it out at the last minute due to issues with layout space.)

And for those wanting to check out things at full size, I have added the new-fangled render for the Crew Equipment to the Overview Page.

Baring anymore interruptions, I am starting on a lovely schematic of the Dr. Phlox’s medical equipment post haste. Stay tuned. I am slowing getting the remaining bits done.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

About time. Two jobs? No wonder… Real world again…

But why sixty meters for the hand scanner?

Or in other words, what about the scanners on the shuttlepod? They do the priliminary scans, or something? Thus reducing theneed for long range equipment?

By the way, there are some materials that no one in the right mind would want to be any where near sixty meters, like nerve gas, radioactives…

Comment by John Ritter

For the battery supply and the limitations in 22nd Century sensor technology, I would think that sixty meters is about right. But to be honest it is an arbitrary number. I needed something that would cover a decent amount of area and not seem high enough to be overly advanced. It is mentioned in the show that the Vulcan scanner can reach about three kilometers but dialog never pins down the range for Starfleet’s devices, 22nd, 23rd or 24th Centuries. I am basically shooting in the dark here but I am confident with that estimation.

But to further answer your question, the scanner is equipped with a subspace transceiver and is capable of communicating with the ship. I am sure that detailed sensor data from the orbiting vessel can be downloaded at anytime to augment the detailed close-range readings the device is gathering. If my cellphone is capable of doing something similar than I think we can count on the 22nd Century tech to be able to handle that kind of data transmission.

Comment by Bryant

Good partial argument.

The only thing left out, is that passive sensors don’t have a range, but sensitivity issues… But to get good data? No problem with your argument. As to hot linking with teh ship, add in the shuttle pod there as well.

What I would have done is to lower the sersor update rate as well. The Mk VII Tricorder(Technical Manual) has a frame rate standard of 120 per second. And since that book was published so long ago now, it has been learned that a CPU speed of 1 gips per image is required for map making, a so a refresh rate of 20 times per second, per number of sensors, will give the speed in GIPS of the CPU(s).

Comment by John Ritter

I wasn’t talking about passive sensors at all and I edited the sheets to reflect that.

Comment by Bryant

Passive sensors are always there, so as to not give away one’s position. so both active and passive(dual function?) must be in the tool box, of possibilies.

Comment by John Ritter

Sorry. I think I am confusing things. I was saying that my range numbers were never meant to included passive scans. Of course the scanners are equipped with passive sensors but they wouldn’t have a range because they do not send out a signal.

And as always, to keep things from being dated in five years, I try to be as vague as possible about certain things. Exactly what the equipment does and how it does it is left to your own imaginations.

Comment by Bryant

Five Years? You are an optimist. ;^D

Passive sensors may “not” have a range per se, but the do have a sensitivity value to them, which when calibrated means much the same thing against known things. But here is the kicker.

One sensor, might not be able to pick up a weak signal, because it is too far away. But many sensors, could, for more of the signal will be received, and be able to have its postion, better determined there by.

A real world example. They can pick up heart beats from better than four hundred feet away, by the electrical activity of a heart. But having 68 sensors able to do this, will drastically increase the range. All that is required, is an sensitive enough EF sensor.

Comment by John Ritter

Glad you are back on-line

Comment by John

Wow as always your work gets better and better. Looking forward to the EV suits, soon please.

Comment by Richard

EV Suits are coming. I just need to burn through this last prop schematic. (I REALLY want to do Doug Drexler’s bottle suit and that will be part of the E/V page.)

Comment by Bryant

There is another way to look at this. Think in terms of getting fooled. Order versions of the hand scanner, might have been fooled by something, due to some sensor lack, and so a new sensor was added, to prevent this ‘fooling’.

that is, think in terms of natural ECM, and that the number of sensors was increased when found to be inadequate for the job.

Comment by John Ritter




Leave a Reply

