Inside The Enterprise Project


Lost in the Expanse
June 13, 2009, 9:33 pm
Filed under: Ramblings

theexpanse_489

I know. I have been AWOL for far too long. I love working on his project and tinkering around with the NX-01 but sometimes “real life” gets in the way, especially when I get hungry and have bills to pay. Unfortunately, I do not have an update or anything really to show at the moment. I just wanted to check in and let everyone know I am slowing getting things done. Changes are being made but they are not coming as quickly as I would like.

As for my progress, right now I am fleshing out E Deck in more detail and correcting some issues with the placement of Engineering. Doug Drexler has been posting some amazing stuff about the ship in his blog. I have been taking in as much of it as I can and applying it to the revised deck plans. However, I am running into some issues with some of his placements. Rather than rush things, I am working out everything in a large format first just to get the details and spatial relationships correct. After I work things through, I plan to start building up a new set of full plans for each deck, plans that will be even more precise and detailed than the ones I currently have available.

In the coming weeks I may post a few screen shots of what I do have done. I have also been doing a lot of research into current technology for fusion reactors and theories into heat dissipation in a vacuum that you folks might find interesting. And like always I can never leave a stone unturned when it comes to the details.

Stay tuned. I promise to be back soon.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! Just… Wow! Please keep it up as I think this project is amazing.

Comment by Jay

Absolutely take your time — I can’t tell you how impressive your work has been thus far. I can’t wait to see more.

Comment by Scott

Hey, don’t worry about it. 🙂 One.) You can’t rush prefection and Two.) You certainly need to eat. 😀

I really appreciated you post the link to Drex Files up. He does put up some incredible stuff and stories. 🙂

Comment by seppun1

Awesome site!

Comment by The Middleman

I’ll second that. One place for me to bookmark. It’s great to see Enterprise get some love for a change.

It’s an amazing layout too, reflecting the consoles and NX interface buttons (blinking coloured touch lights reminicent of TOS).

I need to contact you at some point, seek your advice about web design. I’m a novice but would like to learn how to acheive something like this. Maybe get a Save Enterprise campaign site back up and running. Yeah, I know it’s 4 years too late for that, but I think with the series serving as both the new film and the Original Series’ past… the aim to create a better online awareness for Enterprise is as relevant now as it was back in 2005. Maybe with visitors seeing a video like this…

…and deciding to fire off a letter in support of bringing it back to screen.

Comment by ChristopherPike

Updates?

Comment by John N. Ritter

Excellent, it’s the middle of the night, and I cant get enough of this! Nice work. One suggestion I have, but I might have overlooked it: the phase cannons, I can’t find them anywhere! (unless they look like torpedo’s in the smaller black/darker housings.

Keep it up!

Comment by Mark Rademaker

If you look in the more detailed Armory section, you will see the Phase Cannon. It is the stowed position or up position. As for the larger map, it makes sense that it would be difficult to see, considering its size and position. I hope that helps!

Comment by seppun1




Leave a Reply

