Inside The Enterprise Project


The New & Improved Escape Pods
March 10, 2009, 11:35 pm
Filed under: NX-01 Deck Plans

The revised/revamped/overhauled NX-01 Escape Pods are finally here.

side-detail

New and improved, right down to the smallest detail.

For a full view of the new schematic, visit The Enterprise Project Website!

I don’t think a lot of people know how this project began. Originally it was started as a lark. We were chatting about the lack of NX-01 schematics on one of the message boards I frequent and I started tinkering with a few things just to see what would happen. At the time, I had no clue that it would grow into what it has. If I had, I would have planned things a little better than I did. To be honest, the full deck plans are crude and really nothing more than “digital sketches”. I am a little embarrassed that so many people have seen them. It also really pains me to think that people are looking at these drawings and thinking that this is my best work. Trust me. It isn’t.

A view of the front of the Escape Pod featuring the umbilical connection ports, RCS thruster and identification marker.

A view of the front of the Escape Pod featuring the umbilical connection ports, RCS thruster and identification marker.

One of the main problems with the project, at least for me, has been the resolution that I initially chose to do it in. I selected a minuscule 72 dpi since it was small, easy to move around and simple to manipulate. But at that resolution, the drawings show a lot of edge chatter and I was never able to fully detail them like I wanted. But now, three years later, I have decided it is time to set things right and do this ship justice. So I have started to upgrade the resolution to something more in keeping to what I would normally do. I also get the chance to correct a few errors that I had made with the first renderings.

This is the aft view and displays the pod's entrance hatch and engine nozzles.

This is the aft view and displays the pod's entrance hatch and engine nozzles.

So I would like to introduce the first full 300 dpi resolution schematic to the collection; the escape pod. This new improved version is pristine and as clear as a bell, which you can see from the close-ups I have posted here. The detail is quiet dense and this new format nicely shows off the changes I decided to make. This being my first “upgrade” to the plans, I ended up doing over a month of experimenting to get the detail just right. This version is also more accurate to the original shown in the episode “In a Mirror Darkly”. I would like to thank Doug Drexler giving access to his artwork. It would never have been possible to get this one right otherwise! (Be sure to head on over to his blog for images of the original at Drex Files. ) The first version was done from this screen capture…

In a mirror darkley... well maybe not in a mirror... but darkly... and blury.

In a mirror darkly... well maybe not in a mirror... but darkly... and blury.

As you can see I didn’t have all that much to work with and I made up most of the details. But thanks to Doug’s generosity, I finally got to see what it really looked like! The biggest departure is still the location of the escape pods. I admit that I have never liked the location that production chose for the episode. Granted, those pods firing out from D Deck was certainly dramatic but the placement is a very tight squeeze. If memory serves (it has been two years), that version would only be about 1.75 meters tall or roughly 4 feet. I would not want to be trapped in such a tiny tin can waiting for a rescue that could be a week away. I also realized that the crew would need something a little more robust, habitable and self-sustaining since they were so far away from other Starfleet vessels. Who knows when a rescue would reach them or if they would need to land on a planet! But even though kept my location change I wanted to make sure my version resembles its forbear as much as possible. The only real change I made was to clip off nose so that it fit into the hull.

I even fully detailed the consoles... which I have to admit turned out really well.

I even fully detailed the consoles... which I have to admit turned out really well.

Please note, that the upgraded plans posted to the site have been reduced back to the standard 72dpi due to most computer monitor resolutions and download speeds. But the crisp lines, curves and much of the detail is still right there for you to enjoy. I am thrilled with it and can’t wait to upgrade the rest.

The Airlock Vestibule featuring the airlock controls... and featuring stuff that no one will be able to really see!

The Airlock Vestibule featuring the airlock controls... and featuring stuff that no one will be able to really see!

There is more to come so stay tuned!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey! It’s good to see you at again. I use to be on the site’s forum. Sorry you had to shut it down. I definitely can see what you mean with the update. The image looks like something that was published in the D29 tech manual. 🙂

I thought would comment and say keep up the good work. 🙂

Comment by seppun1

Thanks seppun1! It is nice to see you again.

And I am still annoyed about the message board. I just couldn’t keep up with the spam bots.

As for the update, it didn’t realize that the style resembled the DS-9 Tech manual. 😆 It was never my intention to do that. My goal was to do something clean and crisp and more in keeping with my usual style. Sweet! I guess I am in good company.

Comment by Bryant

Looks better. You are getting there. Each time, you have had more time to look at the older version, you come up with something better, more refined.

Comment by John N. Ritter

This is the final. I am not making any more changes to this schematic.

Comment by Bryant




Leave a Reply

